Higley LP


Higley’s debut LP is Now available in North America from Wallride!

Higley was born from strong friendships, and even stronger coffee.

Kevin Carl (G-WHIZ) is a songwriter with many friends. In 2008, with several songs written, but no current band to record them, Kevin reached out to his old friend Bill Stevenson (Descendents/Black Flag) and asked if he would be interested in playing drums on the songs. Bill agreed, and Kevin invited ex-bandmate Duane Kiener (G-WHIZ) to accompany him to Bill’s studio and play bass. Fueled by coffee and Mexican food, the duo travelled to Colorado and The Blasting Room, where they recorded drums, bass and guitar for five of the songs Kevin had written.

Shortly thereafter, various setbacks befell the members and everything was put on hold. In 2010, Kevin resurrected the project and reached out to another good friend and drummer, Bob Hoag (Pollen/The Go Reflex). Bob gladly agreed to play drums on four more of Kevin’s songs. These were recorded at Bob’s Flying Blanket Recording studio and Greg Gleason (G-WHIZ) and Duane split bass duties on these songs.

At this point, the project was still without a singer. In 2015, James Menefee (Fun Size/River City High) came on board, based on a recommendation by another old friend. James recorded vocals for the existing songs at Flying Blanket Recording, and also brought along two songs that he had written.

Kevin, Greg and James then traveled back to the Blasting Room in 2016 to record James’ songs and put the final touches on the existing songs. The resulting album is a testimony to friends, perseverance, food, and fun.

A1 That’s Not Me
A2 4 Bit Man
A3 Goodbye Old Ghost
A4 No Need To Know
A6 Toledo

B1 For A Minute
B2 Damne Van
B3 5 Minutes
B4 About You
B5 This Is…
B6 Daddy’s Promise